The information on these pages is intended for those who provide, or want to provide, services to persons with Intellectual disabilities through California's statewide system of 21 locally-based regional centers.
Service providers must be vendored by a regional center before they can provide and be reimbursed for services. "Vendorization" is the term used to describe the entire approval process involved in preparing to provide services to regional center consumers. While this process often involves obtaining licenses or approvals from other State and local agencies prior to becoming a vendor, the main point of contact is the local regional center. The application process starts with writing your program design.


Vendorization Process Overview
Vendorization is the process for identification, selection, and utilization of service providers based on the qualifications and other requirements necessary in order to provide the services. The vendorization process allows regional centers to verify, prior to the provision of services to consumers, that an applicant meets all of the requirements and standards specified in regulations. Applicants who meet the specified requirements and standards are assigned a service code and an unique vendor identification number.
Service providers are vendored by the regional center in whose catchment area the service is located, known as the vendoring regional center. The vendoring regional center is responsible for ensuring that the applicant meets licensing and Title 17 requirements for vendorization, determining the appropriate vendor category for the service to be provided, and approving or disapproving vendorization based upon their review of the documentation submitted by the applicant.


To become a vendor:
1.    Once a potential service provider has obtained all necessary licenses, submitted the completed program design reequirements; (The regional center has 45 days to approve or disapprove vendorization.)
2.    Although a regional center must vendor an applicant who meets all the requirements for the service to be provided, vendorization in no way obligates that regional center to purchase service from that vendor. 

Community Care Facilities
Community Care Facilities (CCFs) are licensed by the Community Care Licensing Division of the State Department of Social Services to provide 24-hour non-medical residential care to children (7 to 17);  adults (18 to 59) and elderly (60 years and over) with intellectual disabilities who are in need of personal services, supervision, and/or assistance essential for self-protection or sustaining the activities of daily living. Based upon the types of services provided and the persons served, each CCF vendored by a regional center is designated one of the following service levels:
    SERVICE LEVEL 1: Limited care and supervision for persons with self-care skills and no behavior problems.
    SERVICE LEVEL 2: Care, supervision, and incidental training for persons with some self-care skills and no major behavior problems.
    SERVICE LEVEL 3: Care, supervision, and ongoing training for persons with significant deficits in self-help skills, and/or some limitations in physical coordination and mobility, and/or disruptive or self-injurious behavior.
    SERVICE LEVEL 4: Care, supervision, and professionally supervised training for persons with deficits in self-help skills, and/or severe impairment in physical coordination and mobility, and/or severely disruptive or self-injurious behavior. Service Level 4 is subdivided into Levels 4A through 4I, in which staffing levels are increased to correspond to the escalating severity of disability levels.

Program Design for Regional Centers


    VENDORS . Point of View


    Sign up for our newsletter

    © 2019 Vendors Point. Designed by LiveWebMedia